Rush

Formula 1 fans will be well aware of Ron Howard’s upcoming film Rush. It chronicles the 1976 Formula 1 season, one of the most tumultuous ever, with a focus on the drivers James Hunt and Niki Lauda.

It’s not often that Hollywood ventures into racing territory and when they have, it’s not usually gone well (think Driven).

Rush on the other hand, looks fantastic. Ron Howard is taking it seriously and Formula 1 fans are the ones he’s looking to please. Ron has been spotted at a number of races over the last year, including yesterday’s Monaco Grand Prix. I’m a big fan of the Hunt-Lauda rivalry and I think it’ll provide the perfect storyline for American audiences, to become more interested in the sport.

With Rush coming out in 2013 and the potential for 2 US Grand Prix, things are looking good for Formula 1 in the states.

2 comments

  1. I’ve been looking forward to this since I heard about it. I may have high expectations of the film, but Ron Howard hasn’t disappointed me yet.

    1. I’m sure my expectations are already too high. Not too sure about Thor playing James Hunt, but I won’t write him off just yet. The other dude actually looks like Lauda. Should be a great movie.

Leave a Reply

