Friends Old & New

Those that know me personally, know that Top Gear is near and dear to my heart. Yes, I’m talking of course, about the UK version and not that horrendous, half-witted, General Motors propaganda, we get in the US. For me, the UK version has sort of transcended the realm of a mere television show and become something of a close friend. It’s the friend I’ve found myself spending countless hours with. The one who was there, when I was the new kid in school or deailing with some of life’s curve balls, we all get pitched. The obsession runs deep, so deep that I’ve watched every episode, of every season, half a dozen times or more. Top Gear has always been a constant and for that, I’ll forever cherish it.

Friends change though. In recent years my beloved Top Gear has become more of a variety comedy hour, than a balls out motoring journal. That isn’t to say I don’t still find pleasure, in hanging out with Jezza and Captain Slow, but things are different now. These friends of mine, don’t seem to share the same passion they once did; especially my old pal Hamster, who seems devoid of any interest in cars, period.

That’s where Chris Harris comes in. DRIVE’s resident car thrasher, has become a weekly fixture on my computer and many of yours. He’s the kind of guy Top Gear purists, would be happy to call their friend. Week after week, Harris awes and inspires with insightful and supremely entertaining automotive journalism. Last week was a tribute to some of the WRC’s valedictorians, at a Pirelli tires event. This week, German estate cars are on the menu.

In a sense, Chris Harris is doing what Top Gear used to do so well. He’s reviewing cars and having a hell of lot of fun doing so. While the Top Gear boys continue to live out their rock star fantasies, in a stadium world tour, Chris Harris is here to pick up the slack.

Many rumors have been swirling about when Top Gear will give it’s final curtain call. Will the show continue with new hosts and a fresh format? Only time will tell, but if Harris was ever up for the job, he’d certainly get my vote. Subscribe to DRIVE’s YouTube channel to get your Top Gear fix, until the boys are back in January.

Video courtesy of DRIVE.

2 comments

  1. My friend has been raving about Chris Harris, and I haven’t watched too much of his stuff, but it seems like typical dry British journalism, not very different from Tiff. I don’t want to come to conclusions too soon, but the last thing I want to watch are more “Power tests.” I do commend and support Drive though for having such a wide variety appealing to all enthusiasts.

  2. I really like the outward style that (some/many) car manufacturers are putting into cars these days. That Rs4 is clean!

Leave a Reply

