Inflight Entertainment

Had the chance to catch up on some movies during my flight to Hong Kong.

Heard a lot about Funny People back in the summer when it came out. I wouldn’t call myself a fan of Judd Apatow but I’ve been fond of his movies. This one kind of surprised me; it wasn’t really funny, it was kind of depressing. Sandler and Rogen have good onscreen chemistry and carry the film with moving performances and excellent writing. Not the greatest performances I’ve seen from either of these two, but I’d definitely recommend checking out Funny People, especially if you’re a fan of Apatow’s previous work.

Embarrassingly enough, I’ve missed Up until now. After watching it I can say without hesitation it’s one of the best movies I’ve seen all year and one of Pixar’s best ever. The movie looks absolutely gorgeous and it’s both hilarious and moving. The characters are some of the most memorable in any Pixar film. I’m sure Up will win the Oscar for Best Animated Film and it’ll be a well-deserved win. Pixar never ceases to amaze me time and time again.

Just from watching the trailer I knew District 9 was going to be insane, and it was. This is one of the coolest movies I’ve seen in a really long time. I also think it’s great that the cast is made up of virtual unknowns to keep the attention on the story. The movie takes a very realistic approach almost in the vein of a documentary. The special effects are top notch and the performances are way above par for a science fiction movie. Excellent, I highly recommend District 9, even if you’re on the fence about seeing it.

Leave a Reply

