Songs Of The Moment

Sometimes I like listening to new genres of music I’ve never heard. Other times I like listening to classics I haven’t heard in years. Here’s a sampling of what I’ve been listening to lately.

‘I Remember’ – deadmau5 & Kaskade

I’m not into the whole raving thing at all, but I dig the music. deadmau5 and Kaskade have to be two of the biggest names in electronic music right now and it’s all because of this song. I love listening to it while drinking coffee in the morning. It’s great way to start the day.

‘You Know How We Do It’ – Ice Cube

I love hip-hop’s ability to evolve these days but sometimes you just have to go back to the classics. I was driving through downtown Los Angeles the other day with Ice Cube on blast. The vibe of Los Angeles can be summed up with the sound of the synthesizer in this song. I’m lucky I didn’t get shot LOL!

‘With You Forever’ – Pnau

For those of you Empire of the Sun fans (and I’m one of them), this is where it all started. Besides coming up with all the beats for Empire of the Sun, Nick Littlemore is one half of Australian dance group Pnau. ‘With You Forever’ was his first collaboration with Luke Steele. You can definitely hear the roots of Empire’s sound in this one.

‘Screwtape (feat. L-Universe)’ – DJ Deckstream

When I’m working on Photoshop or drawing, I always put on Deckstream. ‘Screwtape’ features lyrics by Deckstream’s long-time collaborator Verbal from m-flo and Teriyaki Boyz. I’m not too sure why he’s under the name of L-Universe on this one?

That’s just a taste of what I’m listening to right now. If anyone’s got suggestions, I’m always down for new music.

Leave a Reply

