Varis Chin Strap

Sorry for the lack of updates lately. I’ve been extremely busy with life. I’m getting ready to move back down to Irvine and I’m trying to secure a place, so the blog has taken a bit of a backseat.

I was browsing Global Auto earlier and spotted this 2003 GDB STi sporting a Varis front lip and some other goodies.

I’ve always liked the looks of the Varis front lip, but I think it’s better suited for the track. I know the roads in Japan are smooth, but I don’t know how anyone could daily drive with one of those front lips installed on their car. Not sure what the hood scoop deal is there, but I like it.

The wheels are a set of gunmetal Advan RS 17×8.5 +48. I have the exact same wheels as this STi, but they don’t look nearly as aggressive. The car must be fitted with spacers and seeing this is a 2003 model, it’s running a 5×100 lug pattern which really limits wheel sizing. Regardless, the stance on this car looks great; the perfect daily driver/street performance look.

Adding to the aggressive stance are these beefy Bridgestone Potenzas. I don’t have the tire specs but I’m going to guess they’re 255/40/17. You’ll also notice the spot on fitment of the Varis front lip. If you’ve got the money and the patience to wait for it, they make some of the best quality aero products on the market.

Almost all the performance parts on this STi are HKS; including most of the built 2.5L engine’s components, the quick spooling GT3037S turbine and the F-CON V Pro. The level of tuning may be a bit much for most people, but this is really an ideal street setup for the STi. This car is easily making over 300whp and that turbo setup is perfect for commuter duties and weekend track days. There are tons of cars for sale on Global Auto right now. I’m sure the bad economy and record-breaking levels of unemployment in Japan have a lot to do with it. It’s kind of a bummer because these aren’t the kinds of cars you’d typically see for sale.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

