Subarus Of Tokyo Auto Salon 2011

Well it’s the middle of January and for the tuning industry, one of the best times of the year. Tokyo Auto Salon is probably my favorite automotive event of the year. I’ve never had the chance to go in person, but I always enjoy checking out the immense coverage of the event every year. Subaru seems to have a much bigger presence as opposed to years past with a big range of new road and track models hitting the market.

The new evolution of the boxer engine, the FB20 was on display at the manufacturer’s presentation. The new engine promises to be better for the environment without giving up performance.

The 2011 version of Subaru’s B4 Legacy SuperGT car was also unveiled. It looks so mean with the matte black paint and neon yellow headlights.

I’m also very excited to see Subaru’s Nurburgring 24-hour endurance car. The GVB STi is equipped with some serious aero upgrades like the carbon rear wing and front splitter. I really think the GVB is one of the best looking Imprezas in years.

The awesome Impreza STi tS was also on display. I really wish I could own this car, but unfortunately it’s for Japan only and just 400 are being produced. The tS has gone under STi’s weight loss program, adopting Subaru’s first ever carbon roof and the aluminum hood from the Spec C. The understated appearance of the car keeps it under the radar. A sort of track car for grown ups.

The Masquerade Legacy is having a bit of an identity crisis. The R8-styled front end is an interesting addition to the car. I’m really digging those wide front fenders.

Car Station Marche was also on hand with their beastly GRB STi, showcasing some of the company’s latest suspension pieces and an HKS GT3037 turbine.

Zero/Sports has been under the radar for years now. I was surprised to see them at the show with new parts like their quad-tip exhaust. It certainly doesn’t have the presence of their GDB time attack monster, but their new STi demo car is pretty clean. I really like the matte black Advan RG-D’s

There’s tons of great coverage around the internet for Tokyo Auto Salon. I’m a bit disappointed to see such a lack of performance cars this year, but times are changing. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for more Subaru-related stuff and try to post anything else I find cool.

Photos courtesy of Car Watch.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

