What Exactly Are You Building?

One of the great things about Japanese enthusiasts is their ability to go “all out” with their cars. What do I mean by that? Well, they are very good at deciding what the end goal for their car is. Whether it ends up becoming a track or street car, the owners always take it to the extreme. In this country, the lines are a bit more blurred and when you ask people what they’re trying to do, they may not have an answer. I’m always going back and fourth on my own build because I’m not sure which way I want to go.

This picture is more an inspiration for this discussion, rather than a clear cut example. In this case, it’s a Subaru STi Spec C doing the street thing. The Japanese rock their cars so hard. If they build a street car it’s going to be filled with all kinds of cool gadgets, LCD screens and stereo upgrades. You’ll also find that a vast majority of the cars in Japan (older ones included), have satellite navigation. I guess the point of all of this is that the Japanese really use their cars. If it’s a track car, it’s going to see track days and if it’s a street car, that shit is going to be daily driven. In the United States we’re all very anal about our cars, myself included. No one is allowed to eat food in it or make foot prints on the freshly vacuumed floor mats (or maybe that’s just me). In Japan they don’t care. They all smoke and eat their cars and just genuinely enjoy using them for what they are. It’s kind of a cool thing. Look at any street drift car and you’ll see what I’m talking about. I think my favorite part about the picture above isn’t anything to do with the car. It’s the drink can in the cup holder. It looks like a BOSS Coffee which I’ve drank and spilled in my car before. They don’t fit in the upholder and if you drive too hard, they will fall out.

6 comments

  1. Nice writeup Chris..I agree..the U.S is much more sensitive of what is done in the “office”..even if its a beater EG or a VIP Aristo; people get so up tight about their carpet, seat cushions getting full of grease or crumbs for that matter..

    I would personally enjoy my car to its fullest potential; after all, time and a lot of money is spent in the looks dept.
    Some of my friends have OCD in their interiors, Febreze bottle, one of my friends even has a Dust Off in his car!

    1. I used to carry a duster in my car Freddy, nothing wrong with that LOL! I know what you mean though. Since my car went on retirement from DD duties, it’s become a lot more pampered. But less than a year ago it was still doing the morning commute to LA, 50 miles each way. Glad that’s over!

  2. I’m super guilty of OCD’ing over the cleanliness of my car. It’s just who I am. I’m a insanely clean and organized person and I like things to stay that way. Sometimes I don’t have a choice though (like when I’m at school) and I admit, it bugs me when my car is dirty or whatever. haha

    As far as my car goals, I knew what my goals were and I even planned out mods before I had the car. My car is not a stripped out track machine nor is it a blinged show car. I just wanted a clean, functional daily driver that I could enjoy on the streets and take to the track a few times a year. (However, I’ve completely failed bringing it to an autocross event or a track day since I made the goals. I really hope to change that this year though.)

    1. You’re preaching to the choir man. I’m the exact same way. The level of OCD goes beyond just the car. It has infiltrated every aspect of my life HAHA! I just think that everything has a place and when you’re life is organized, you can be more productive.

      I’m not sure I’ve ever seen your car man. Can you e-mail me some pictures? 🙂

  3. Haha I really enjoy all the (very accurate) analysis that went into this photo… 🙂 I don’t think there are many pics of my car on the internet that don’t have a large Starbucks or D&D ice coffee cup in the cupholder (“Hello my name is John and I have a problem.”) I agree that sometimes I see stripped out cars and I’m like… is this helping you get to work 3 minutes faster…

    1. I appreciate that all 3 of you are on the same page as me. I’ve also got the same addiction as you; coffee cup on the dash. The problem is that other cup holder sucks in our cars. If there’s anything larger than a soda can in there, I hit it with my elbow when I shift LOL!

      Stripped out cars are cool and there’s a good chance I’ll own one someday, but there’s something about doing a street car properly and being able to combine the power and creature comforts in perfect harmony that really appeals to me.

Leave a Reply

