NISMO Omori Factory: Part II

How many people really care about places like Omori Factory? You think all those fitment kings in your local community college parking lot are reading about this stuff online? The answer is an obvious “no”. They have no concept about where there cars came from and why they’re important. I think everyone should be interested in the history that surrounds their cars. It seems awfully nerdy and a waste of time, but it makes you appreciate them a lot more. I think only a certain type of person finds all of this interesting. Most people don’t really car about the special variations of the RB26 or that Rays made a magnesium version of the LM GT4. At any rate, I really enjoy documenting this stuff for the people who do care. I have been extremely lucky to visit Japan and see all of the amazing things I have. A majority of people will only be able to experience these things from a far. That’s the reason I do these posts, so that hopefully you can appreciate these things as I do and maybe get a look at something interesting or different from the usual. With that said, lets get back to it.

Upstairs from the showroom are some offices and conference rooms for meeting with clients. Outside of those rooms are display cases filled with all kinds of awards and NISMO memorabilia. This first place trophy from Round 4 of the JGTC (when it was still called that) was one of many achievements on display.

I’m not sure if they were on sale or just for show, but there were tons of diecast cars of all different scales. They also had model kits like the Z-Tune, which makes me think you could buy the stuff. Basically every sports car and racer than NISMO has been involved with was in one diecast form or another. Looking back, it makes me want to start collecting again, but that’s an expensive road I should probably stay off of.

After checking out the second floor, I headed back down to the showroom. At the bottom of the stairs was this display for NISMO’s Super Coppermix Twin clutch kit for the GT-R. For most Americans, the closest we can get to our future car parts is on a webpage. It’s always nice to be able to see things in person before you buy them.

Before Rays Engineering earned it’s place on NISMO’s race cars, SSR was one of the team’s wheel suppliers. I’m pretty limited on my knowledge of vintage wheels, but these look an awful lot like the Longchamps.

I’ve done many posts on gauge clusters in the past. It’s one of my favorite parts of a car’s interior. NISMO offers a wide range of gauges and replacement clusters for the GT-R, Fairlady Z and Silvia. There were all on display in a long case in front of the checkout counter. The NISMO black and amber cluster is probably my favorite for the R34 GT-R.

In the back of the showroom, set on what seemed like a pedestal was yet another of Omori Factory’s RB26 creations, the S1.

Pristine details are what you first notice when looking at this limited production engine. Only 100 where ever produced. It was designed and constructed with street driving as the primary focus, providing better low to midrange torque. The S1 is very similar to the engine used in the Z-Tune.

We were visiting Omori Factory on a Sunday morning, so things were pretty quiet. Everything except the showroom was closed. NISMO Girl, as Mike and I started referring to her, was nice enough to take us into the back to have a look at the garage. Since it was the weekend we were only able to check out the garage from the customer lounge, a small seating area where customers can watch the Omori Factory technicians transform their cars. NISMO Girl flicked on the lights to the garage and the holy grail of Skyline GT-R’s was sitting in front of us.

I could go on about the Z-Tune all day long. I love what this car stands for, which is an approach to absolute perfection. I think it was the original inspiration for what the engineers at Nissan hoped to achieve with the current GT-R. It’s a pretty awesome site to see such a rare piece of automotive prowess in the flesh. We’ve all had the chance to see cars like this at motor shows and events of a similar nature, but to see a car of this caliber in such an everyday setting is a different sort of experience. All of the 20 Z-Tunes were built in 2003 using R34 GT-R V-Specs with less than 18000 miles. There were two versions of the car, known as the Z1 and Z2 respectively. I believe the one we saw was a Z2, probably in for service. The amazing thing about the Z-Tune is that it’s essentially a hand built car from the ground up. They’ve been said to go for around $180000, which puts it directly in line with Ferrari and Lamborghini. Like I said, I could go on about the Z-Tune all day long.

It was pretty special to see this car on the grounds with which it was conceived. I knew little of what I was seeing in the showroom, but I was well-aware of the Z-Tune and just how epic it was. Unfortunately, this is the only decent picture I got of the car. But it’s proof, that I have indeed seen a unicorn. After a final stroll around the showroom we decided to get going. I still regret not buying anything, even a simple t-shirt or something. NISMO Girl didn’t let us leave without giving us all kinds of brochures and readers though. Outside the building I spotted another very special GT-R, which we’ll be checking out in the final part of my visit to Omori Factory.

NISMO Omori Factory: Part I

6 comments

  1. Love the info here. Too bad we never got the Skylines in the USA. What a shame a car of this calibre never arrived on our shores. I think it would have shaken up the pony car wars of the 90’s and 2000’s. The Skyline in addition to the RX7, Supra and Z of the 90’s would have raised the bar so much more for the Mustang and Camaro. Anyway… Too bad people are going away from the Inline 6. BMW I6 is no longer and neither is the Nissan I6’s. 😦

  2. Good Stuff Chris..I totally agree with the first paragraph and lovin’ the in-depth coverage/info!!

  3. I can’t get enough of this. Its amazing that you pretty much stumbled upon Omori just looking for “something auto related” while in Japan. What luck! You, sir, have just made my day.

  4. Well I’m one of them people who cares about a car’s heritage… Thus appreciating my car even more. 🙂 And I’d like to share some bits of it.
    When I was younger playing my P.Station, I’ve always wondred what is it about a GT-R that it seems to be special in the Gran Turismo game. So did a backyard research on it… And bam! Learned about the difference between GT-R and non GT-R Skylines (now I know a poser Gts w/ Gtr badge coz of this :D), it’s huge motorsports success, how the GT-R32 was banned for being too dominating (causing the foreigners to call it “Godzilla”), fastest awd record holder, lap records around the world, 0 to 300 kmh record, etc. ect.! 🙂

    Sorry I just have to share this. Hehe. Your nice write make me do it. Good job!

  5. Just thought i have to correct you on the S1 engine, it’s in no way the same as what is been used in Ztune, the S1 engine uses the N1 block which has an improved water/oil channel, whereas the Ztune uses the GT500 or RRR block

    S (Street) < R (race) < Z (Ultimate?)

Leave a Reply

