Thanks Everyone

I thought I should update the blog, since my rant the other day. First, I’d like to say thanks to all the people who e-mailed me with their suggestions about what I should do with my car. Everyone was very helpful and I appreciate hearing from you.

I’m in the market for some new brake pads, which I’ll be picking up sometime this week. I was talking to Danni over at Race Technologies about getting some new Brembo pads. Unfortunately, nothing above the standard street pads are offered for my kit, which basically consists of STi 4-pot calipers and 1-piece slotted rotors. I’m looking for something a bit more aggressive since I need to replace the rear pads too.

The Project Mu HC+ pads have been appealing to me over the last couple days. I’ve heard some good things and I really like the fact that they operate in a wide temperature range, 0-800°C. That works well for me, since I daily drive my car. A definite consideration no doubt.

Despite some of the hiccups, it’s been a lot of fun working on the WRX again.

6 comments

  1. I have heard great feedback for the Stop Tech Street Performance pads. I got a set for my WRX but have not installed them yet. They are going in this weekend along with a few other things… Might want to check those out, great price too…

    1. I haven’t heard too much about the StopTech pads, I’m very curious to hear about them though. Keep me posted on how they perform, once you install them.

      What else is going on the Subaru this weekend? 🙂

      1. Hey!

        Just installed the ST pads along with new Power Slot rotors and after the bed-in process the car feels great, almost like with the Hawk HP+ but sans the noise, great initial bite. I also threw in a Cusco brake cylinder stopper. Wanted to instal a Quantum brake cooling kit but I’m missing some bolts and I need to modify the front bumper brace to be able to accommodate the inlets that will replace the fog lights… I also replaced my trusty RE01Rs with brand new meatier Star Specs… loveing those too!

  2. I’ve also heard great things about Stop Techs. I personally use Hawk Ceramics. They only take a block or two to warm up, but it’s worth the low dust. Good luck with your installs!

  3. Hi, I’d recommend taking a look at http://www.powerbrake.co.za, I contacted them when I was looking for something for my Bug.

    They replied with a questionnaire, and after my response they set me some documentation to read up on (about brakes in general) and then made various recommendations and explained why, different sets of discs, calipers and pads, and not just their in-house brand.

    I’ve seen their kits used on lots of track cars, Production, Enduro…

    They do have a branch in the US, opened 2 months ago, I think.

    They hosted a technical evening for the Subaru Club of South Africa last night. VERY informative, lot’s of tips on brakes, why they fail, proper bedding in procedure, the impact of track vs road racing on your discs and pads.

    Also their staff is not sales people, they are all engineers.

    Drop them a line, or send me an e-mail and I’ll send you the mails they sent me.

    Cheers.

    PS: cool, site, I started follow for about a year now since, I got my first scooby MY00 Bug.

Leave a Reply

