The Whip

Sometimes you just need to step back and enjoy something for what it is.

I take my car for granted. Sometimes it takes a photo, to remind me of how lucky I am. My Subaru isn’t perfect, not by a long shot, but it’s been around for a lot of good and bad times. I’ve owned the car over 6 years and enjoyed every drive since. Part of me never wants to sell it, part of me sees it’s flaws and why it should eventually be replaced. But who knows what’s around the corner? I guess only time will tell.

Photo courtesy of Edwin Pho.

2 comments

  1. same here, i see myself with my car for life but then there are these other thoughts about sellin it and getting something better. there are times when all i focus on are the flaws and thats all i can see. fix this, reupholster that, rattle here, rattle there. then you get a moment of clarity, you see an old picture that embodies everything you fell in love with and it completely changes your perspective. stepping back and taking it all in is what keeps me grounded.

  2. ENJOY IT! If you have the means to keep it forever, do it. I plan on doing the same with mine, which is why I haven’t sold it. Probably won’t be able to drive it for a few more years, but I know it’ll be worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

