Mystery Lip

I’m once again on the hunt for an STi V1 front lip. It’s one of the rarest pieces for the GDA, so I’m not completely optimistic. I’ve been casually looking for one, for the last 4-5 years. Funny enough, last year I thought I had finally come across a real one, for sale, right here in SoCal. I immediately headed up to the seller’s house in LA, only to find that it was another fake and he had “forgotten” to mention that on the sales thread.

Anyway, I’ve enlisted the help of my buddy Paulie and some of his contacts in Japan, to see what they can find. I was at Tachikawa Subaru (Car Do) back in 2007 and they didn’t have it then either. This thing is becoming a bit of a unicorn.

Yesterday I got an e-mail from Paulie that his friend found this lip, made by Subaru, for sale at Up Garage.

The photo doesn’t really give much of a clue, but it does say the lip is for a GDA Impreza, which is the bugeye.

Apart from the OEM lip kit and the STi V1 and V2, I wasn’t aware that Subaru even made another option for the GDA.

I did a Google search on the part number, but it just brought me back to the Up Garage listing.

I’ve got some PDF’s of old Subaru part lists on my computer, so I’m going to look into that later. In the meantime, I’m completely stumped. Is it actually for a different variant of the Impreza and just mislabeled? I honestly don’t have a clue.

2 comments

  1. You should get this – admittedly I’ve never seen this but it looks good. Also, is it definitely for the 02-03 or possibly for the 06+? The upswept sides and sharp cutoff on the bumper opening looks more 06+ but hard to tell

  2. I’ve one of these on my GDA-G (Hawkeye) Impreza in Singapore. Here are some links of the product:

    http://www.japanparts.com/db/parts_detail.php?NUMBER=00010107&VOLUME=170-004-001&DEALER=1&CAR=115&MIDDLE=2&SMALL=11&MAKER=5&VOLKEY=&SEARCH_DEALER=1&SEARCH_CAR=115&SEARCH_MIDDLE=2&SEARCH_SMALL=11&SEARCH_MAKER=5&SEARCH_VOLKEY=&SEARCH_page=&submit.x=47&submit.y=1

    http://motorimage.net/SG/promotions/files/PartsAccessoriesSpecialPromo.pdf
    Look at the first item – the part numbers are not exactly the same but I believe its the same part.

    If you provide an e-mail address, I will send a PDF copy of the installation instructions.

Leave a Reply

