D7000 Video Setup

Back in October I got a D7000 to replace my D80. It’s an amazing piece of kit, so smart that all I’m really there to do, is push the button. Put the D7000 into Professional mode and it does everything for you. It’s really no wonder why everyone’s a “photographer” these days. The ease of acquiring beautiful, high resolution images is more accessible than ever (like it or not).

My favorite feature of current digital cameras, is their ability to record HD video. Nowadays, even pocket-sized cameras can shoot in at least 720p, so it really opens up the taps for amateur and professional filmmakers a like. One of the things that kept me from getting the D90 was it’s inability to record stereo sound. It also had no microphone jack, so unless you were interested in making music videos exclusively, it was kind of pointless. Then Canon came out with the 5D Mark II and changed everything.

Luckily Nikon saw the error in their ways and for the D7000, they included an external microphone jack for stereo sound recording. If you’ve tried using the camera’s onboard mic, then you already know it’s pretty awful. Try autofocusing while recording and you’re greeted with the sound of a hundred mechanical parts shifting about.

That can be solved (for the most part), with a shotgun mic like the Rode Videomic Pro. Back in high school and college, I used to work with all kinds of Rode microphones and they were great.

I’ve always been very happy with their sound quality and durability.

The Videomic Pro has a compact design that’s ideal for DSLR setups. Obviously you’re going to want a boom pole for more serious shoots, but on the go, size is crucial. One of the other great things about this mic is that it weighs virtually nothing.

I can’t wait to take it out and use it for real. Who’s down to shoot some car videos?

4 comments

  1. You bought a rode? How’s the sound quality? Glad you’re toying with the video feature. Does the D7000 allow full manual control of the video? I tinkered with a D90 last summer and it was all auto and the video quality was kind of awful. Have fun shooting!

    1. Haven’t had a chance to test it yet. Once my over this illness I’ve got, I’ll give it a go.

      Video has manual controls and I think the picture quality is much improved over the D90, which I also wasn’t terribly fond of. One of the D90’s big initial selling points was the ability to shoot in 24fps, for that cinematic look. Canon quickly answered with a firmware update LOL!

      What are you shooting on these days?

      1. Nothing, no time, desire, or subject matter that I want to film as of yet. I hate 50% of what’s out there and another 40% all seems the same, so I don’t want to add to the pile of digital crap.

Leave a Reply

