Lamborghini Artifacts

Today I was cleaning out some old magazines and I came across this Lamborghini book. It’s been about 10 years since I looked at this thing, which was given to me at a Mercedes-Benz dealer, back in the mid-90’s. To this day, I still don’t know what it is exactly.

It reminds me of some of the magazines you find in Japan. It’s a high quality print, with beautiful imagery and little to no advertisements. I suppose that makes it more of a book, than a magazine. Most of the articles are in Italian, back when Lamborghini was still owned by the Italians.

The articles cover a variety of subjects like the manufacturing of their cars, as well as some of the company’s motor sports endeavors.

I wish I could read Italian because based on the photos, it all seems very interesting.

The first half of the book discusses the origins of the Diablo, which was 2 years old at the time. Its wedge-shaped body and scissor doors, made it my favorite car as a kid.

Motor sports becomes the focus, later in the book.

Those of you who know your Formula 1 history will know that Lamborghini supplied their V12 engines to both Minardi and Venturi, for the 1992 season. It didn’t prove to be the most successful venture as the teams ended up finishing 12th and 13th, in the constructors championship. They pulled out of the sport completely after the 1993 season with Larrousse.

A pretty interesting find and one that I had all but forgotten about.

Lamborginis are what got me into cars as a little kid. I remember how incredible it used to be to see a super car driving down the street. Now I’m spoiled and can head over to Cars & Coffee anytime, but that same feeling still comes back today.

One comment

Leave a Reply

