Kansai Service 86 & BRZ At TAS

One of the things that’s so fantastic about the 86/BRZ is the car’s versatility when it comes to tuning. For those looking for moderate power with an emphasis on handling, there are limitless options out there. On the other side of the coin, those in search of high power output are getting treated to more and more options with superchargers and turbos. The car was always intended to be an everyman’s sports car and it hasn’t disappointed. I always look forward to seeing what Kansai Service are up to at Tokyo Auto Salon. This year they’ve unveiled both an 86 and a BRZ with varying levels of tuning.

kansai_86_01

Kansai Service cars are never over the top in terms of exterior styling and always serve as nice examples of street tuning.

kansai_86_02

Their 86 is fitted with the usual allotment of HKS, Advan and in house parts.

kansai_86_03

Under the hood is an HKS supercharger kit which should be perfect for some extra power on the street. It makes sense as the car has been dubbed the “86 Super Tourer”.

Parked next to the Toyota is the Subaru BRZ.

kansai_brz_01

While relatively simple, this is easily one of the best looking BRZs I’ve seen yet. Kansai Service have a way with injecting just enough aggressiveness into the looks of their cars. Those Advan RS-IIs where made for this chassis.

kansai_brz_02

The rear quarter angle gets even better. I believe the carbon wing is their own design and it looks fantastic!

kansai_brz_03

Under the hood things have been left mostly stock with an HKS intake pipe being the only addition. It provides a nice contrast to the 86, as some may be looking to retain the car’s naturally aspirated power plant.

A couple very clean builds from Kansai Service and certainly no shortage of 86s and BRZs at Tokyo Auto Salon. More to come!

Photos courtesy of CarWatch.

10 comments

  1. I’m most interested in the new Advan RGs (RG III?) on the 86. Those look to be 19s though. 17s for me, please!

    1. I’m not so sure about the RG-IIIs or RS-IIs. I’m not the biggest fan of the grooves on all the spokes. The IIIs on that Kansai 86 are no where near concave enough either.

      1. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I hate those dumb “weight saving” grooves with a passion too. Also, concave or not, it doesn’t matter. Never really obsessed over concave like other people. I just want a light wheel in decent sizing that’s easy to clean. I’m over washing my BBS mesh, and the ugly as sin stock wheels on the twins are just as bad.

  2. Love the simplicity of Kansai Services demo ride for quite some time.

    I also like the ZELE Performance BRZ..

    Loving all the TAS coverage Chris!!

  3. @Robert I hate cleaning my RSs too! It takes about an hour to do all 4 properly and then they’re dirty again in 2-3 days of driving. Ah, the car life…

    I think if I had an FR-S/BRZ, I’d get some CE28Ns. Everyone’s going crazy for the TE37 SLs and most of the Advan range right now so for the first time ever, they’d be something a bit different LOL!

    1. I am considering CEs, but I also can’t resist a set of TE37Vs for a more throwback, vintage appearance. The Vs come in perfectly flush sizing too, but I don’t know how that will translate to track performance. Go too aggressive, and things such as scrub radius and track width could change too dramatically and screw up the handling and response, and there might even be an aero penalty since the 86 is so extremely aerodynamic from the factory. On the other hand, the CE28 retains close-to-stock offset, while being offered in 8, 8.5, and 9 inch widths in 5×100 (thankfully). So much research still has to be done with different wheel and suspension setups, which is mostly the reason why I haven’t jumped into impulse parts purchases yet.

      1. Yeah, deciding on wheels is hard enough and then once you do you need to figure out which sizing to go with. If it were me I’d probably do gun metallic or matte black 18×9 CEs. Do people run 18s or are those too big? LOL, I really don’t know much about the FR-S.

      2. CE28s are not made in 18×9 for the 5×100 PCD. The widest is 18×8. However, I suspect that will change later this year with yet another version of the CE28.

        A lot of the track guys run RPF1s or the special edition TC105Ns in 17×8 or 17×9. 17s are the perfect size for this car and really keep the handling balanced and neutral. Quite a few independent tests revealed the car was much slower with 18s. Even a stickier stock sized tire was a significant improvement and led to 3-5 second faster lap times.

        Driving the car, you realize just how precisely tuned it is. I believe (and many others have found) that running 18s ruins the feel of the car. While 18s would look better, the performance cost just isn’t worth it, IMO.

Leave a Reply

